Now what?


I am slightly superstitious.  I was raised that way, even though as an adult I don’t put a lot of faith in to superstitions.  But it was Friday the 13th.  I KNEW something was going to happen.  I just didn’t expect for my husband to lose his job.

I am trying to leave it in God’s hands, but being a worrier it’s really hard not to stress about it.  We JUST got caught up on the bills we were behind on from me being out of work.  I just got approved for disability 3 months ago.  I don’t bring in enough money to support us.

So, now what? This year was actually looking up with me getting approved and not being hospitalized for anything.  I started therapy, I’ve been seeing my psychiatrist.  And now I am going to be without health insurance, without money to pay for my prescriptions.  And all this at a point where I am a little rocky anyways and going through some med changes.

David was supposed to be having surgery, looks like that’s not going to happen now either.  Although, it would be a good time since he wouldn’t miss work.  HAHA.

So, now we get to start over again.

4 thoughts on “Now what?”

  1. Aw, I was just going to say that you should apply for medicaid! If he isn’t working, and you are only getting disability, maybe you guys will be approved for the Medicaid part. I don’t know the laws, but you are disabled so there should be some coverage. Call your local SRS and find out what you have to do… Sorry about David losing his job… that is cruddy, but like your mom said. He will find another job. Even though they are scarse, there are still jobs. I have seen people that I never thought I would see eating at McDonalds, actually working there! Pride has no place when it comes to jobs. Not in this economy… Chin up, knees on the floor girl. God will provide all the manna you need! Love you!

  2. 6 weeks ago, we were told there was nothing they could do for Sweetie. Today she is alive as she ever was….last Friday I was told I HAD to hurry home, daddy may not make it long enough for me to arrive, today he is stronger and more alert then he has been for two weeks….with God and love all things are possible…nothing is ever as bad as we imagine it to be. Yes things happen and things end. But at every end there is a door waiting to be opened for a new journey. What’s for you, won’t pass you, and usually what we lose, are the things we didn’t really need.
    You and David are both strong , responsible people. Despite your maladys they are are not life threatening. Your love, and the committment you have for each other is so much more then so many others have. It will get you through. Yes financially things may get tight, but that is life and we all suffer through it and come out on the other side. Be thankful for each other and what you DO have, and let God take care of you, and he will.

    Changes will be made and David will get a job, and you all will be fine .

    i ❤ U !!!!
    Mommy

    1. I rated your post as like just because you are such a wonderful writer and Mom, and I thought the stars on the blog might remind you of the stars and moon and everything in between that God made. If he made all that, however he did it – evoultion or 7 days or whatever – that means he’s pretty darned powerful. Powerful enough to take care of you and see you though this.
      There is no one in the world who would not be worried. Any one of our husbands could loose their jobs at any time. It’s a constant worry for me, since I can make it just barely at work. You can worry, and scream and shout, but in the end, just be obedient and do what you are supposed to do daily – take care of yourself and your child and your husband – and you will be fine. I’m sure Jesus was worried too, so he gets it.
      As for your meds, I am on tons of med, one that cost 12K per month, and we are supposed to pay 20%. I got an award for assitance for the 20%. But, if I am ever out of insurance, husband looses his job, all the companies that MAKE the drugs have free or deeply discounted cost programs. I know, cause I called a bunch since Liza’s bipolar meds and my immune deficiency meds are so expensive. Hit the phones Monday and call the manufacturers – get the numbers off the internet.
      Your doctor will most likely work with you. If you don’t put that as a priority, dealing with other bills really WILL be a problem because you won’t be well enough to do it.
      I’m praying for you and your family. If you ever need to talk, my email is celiabrent@yahoo.com.

      (((((((hugs)))))))
      Celia

      1. Thanks Celia. I will def. look into contacting the drug manufacturers. I know when I was out of work we still made too much to qualify for a lot of the programs, but I bring in much less money than my husband did from work. I have already applied for medicaid and all that and hopefully that will be approved. Funny thing is we were just talking the other day about how I am going to be eligible for Medicare next August… but that doesn’t do much good today. 😀 Trying to keep my head up.

Leave a Reply

