I am cavewoman. hear me rawr.


Had a nice visit with one of my besties that I haven’t seen in a while due to my hermitness.  We got on the subject of dieting and weight loss and she told me about the diet and exercise regimen that she had been on and was able to lose a significant amount of weight.

It’s called the paleo diet, or the “caveman diet”.  Essentially we eat fruit, veggies, nuts, meat, berries.  No grains, no sugar, no beans, no dairy.  It’s been 6 days and I’ve lost 4 lbs and I’m NOT HUNGRY.  I graze all day on fruit and nuts and then we usually have dinner of some type of meat and veggies (tonight I made beef stir fry).  I also have discovered we can have honey..what with it being a natural sugar.  So for my sweet cravings (which is a LOT) I have been having honey and nuts and fruit, or honey and nuts.  I found a recipe for “Apple pie” and modified it to our taste.  It’s good for those not on paleo too… our good friend, Stephen, tried it the other night and was completely impressed and asked for his own after trying a bite off my plate.

“Apple Crisp”

1 apple cored and sliced

1/4-1/2 cup nuts (I use walnut or pecan)

honey

cut the apple slices into thirds so that you get nice sized chunks of apple, place in a bowl. In a blender (magic bullet works great) grind nuts to a medium consistency.  sprinkle nuts on top of apple and top with honey.  stir and enjoy… also good with some apple pie spice mixed in and heat entire dish for 30 seconds to one minute.

This recipe is also good with other kind of fruit that would be made into a crisp.  I personally have tried blueberries and they were delicious, I imagine peaches would be good too.

The other thing that I have been going crazy for is honeyed nuts.  I mix some apple pie spice and honey in a small dish and microwave for 10 seconds so the honey is liquid.  Then I toss in a handful of pecans and stir well and enjoy.  Tonight I did this and threw the mix on a baking sheet and placed in the oven for 20 mins at 300 degrees… tastes wonderful!

2 thoughts on “I am cavewoman. hear me rawr.”

  1. My mom did nutrisystem for a while. I don’t think she had much luck with it either. If you’re interested in the paleo diet there’s a website http://www.cavemanpower.com that I reference quite a bit. We jumped right into stage 3 of the diet as the first two stages are more to get you used to eating healthier. My problem is cutting out carbs and sugar. So far so good. Good luck to you if you try it… let me know how it goes!

  2. That sounds like a good, reasonable diet to try. I have 25 lbs I want to get off. I think I may give this a try. I was thinking of ordering Nutri-system, but someone else I know tried it and did not do well with it. It just wasn’t practical.

Leave a Reply

