Books are great conversations starters


I went to the otolaryngologist today.  Translated that’s the ear, nose and throat doctor.  I brought my  Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide with me to read while I was in the waiting room.  I got into the exam room and the nurse/med asst.  said “I like your book.”   I said thanks, I just got approved for disability because of my bipolar disorder.  She said “really… I didn’t know that you could for that.  My husband is bipolar.  Can I ask you a couple questions, you don’t have to answer if you don’t want.”  She then asked me about the approval process and filled me in a bit about her husband and I encouraged her to have him apply.

So then my doctor comes in and sees my book and says “Hey, my father-in-law has that…” and then proceeded to tell me a funny story about how his father-in-law borders between genius and insanity.  I know that there are a lot of people out there that have bipolar disorder.  I know that the statistics say that 1 in so many people either have it or are related to or are friends with someone who has bipolar… but it’s just funny to actually see those statistics in action.    All because I brought a book to the doctor’s office.  I think I might start doing that more often.  I need to find a smaller bipolar book to just carry around with me.  Get the word out, fight stigma.

~ by falloutmommy on May 19, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
