Mania’s a bitch


Hello all,
As you can tell I have been away from my blog for about 3 weeks. Let me tell you why. Apparently I was manic. Hubby thinks it started because of my hearing, then on top of that we went camping with his family a few days later and I got terrible sleep, took double sleeping pills and slept during the day so my schedule was all screwy. Anyway, whatever the trigger(s) there I was. I didn’t even realize it.

I saw my pdoc on April 16 and told him that I had been having trouble sleeping. He asked if I was in a depressive or manic state and I told him that no, I didn’t think so. I felt fine other than not sleeping well. That night I was speaking to David about it and he said “yes you are. You’ve been manic since your hearing.”

For whatever reason I associate manic episodes with lots of energy and a decreased need for sleep. So, if I am still sleeping a lot (like usual) then I don’t associate it with being manic. Even though I colored my hair, I was spending money, I was restless and major irritable, I was on a quest to get a web domain for my website and blog, I pissed David off by printing out chapters of my “Bipolar for Dummies” book about taking care of your loved one with Bipolar. He got mad because he said he already knows and he’s been doing it, he just can’t deal with reading about what he’s supposed to be doing when he is dealing with it in his own way and how he leaves me be when I am manic so I don’t explode at him 24/7 and he just keeps an eye on me when I am depressed. But I was on a mission. I seem to be doing better now though. The last few days of my episode were spent in agonizing restlessness where I felt like I was crawling out of my skin. Literally. I hate that feeling. I’m glad it’s over.

Anyway, I don’t feel much like writing at the moment so I’ll leave you with this: What combination of non-textbook symptoms do you have? I still sleep a lot.

Edit: I forgot to mention that during the last few days of my episode I took a mania quiz and scored an 83 out of 100 which was considered moderate/severe manic episode. Funny how that happens without even realizing.

2 thoughts on “Mania’s a bitch”

  1. Ooh, yuck. I’ve been hypomanic or manic or whatever doctor’s decided to call my “symptom cluster” for like 3 weeks. It’s the first time the (hypo)mania has lasted longer than a couple of days. I was still sleeping but then I take Seroquel so there you go.

    My new psychiatrist is referring to my issues as a “symptom cluster”. I think because he, like every other therapist/psychiatrist I have ever seen, can’t decide if I have bipolar disorder, bpd, or both. Problem is I don’t fit the text book definition of either.

    I’ve also tried to print stuff out to make my husband read, but he’s resistant. He’s finally started to admit he might need to talk to somebody himself, but that’s only when I’m super depressed. Mental illness can make relationships so much more difficult…

Leave a Reply

