Mixed Diagnoses – How Do You Know?


I have bipolar disorder.  This is the most recent diagnosis.  I don’t completely fit the mold.  As mentioned in a previous post, “I’m bipolar something.” My pdoc just isn’t sure what type yet.

This seems to be becoming a trend with my posts, but I would like to write a list of psychiatric diagnoses (and medications, if applicable) I have received over the past 10 years.  I’ll start from 10 years ago and work my way forward:

Jan 2000:  Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, Depression

December 2000: Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (I put this dx here because it’s often linked with depressive disorders and comes in to play presently)

July 2004: Post-Partum Depression, Anxiety, Depression(haha)

–[zoloft] D/C’ed after 2 months

January 2006: Depression, Anxiety(situational)

–[Wellbutrin XR]didn’t work

February 2006:

–{Lexapro} D/C’ed after 3 months (too expensive, non-formulary)

July 2007 : Depression, Borderline Personality Disorder

November 2007: Panic Attacks/Anxiety, Depression

–[Lexapro and Ativan] D/C’ed after 5 weeks lexapro made me psychotic/manic,

January 2008: Depression, Panic/Anxiety Attacks

–{Paxil and Ativan}, D/C’d after 3 weeks paxil made me shake too much, I felt sick all the time.

March/April 2008: Personality Disorder, Not Otherwise Specified w/ characteristics of: Borderline, Narcissistic, Obsessive-Compulsive, Avoidant, Histrionic.  Depression. Possible bipolar disorder, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.

October 2008: Depression, Anxiety.

–[zoloft and ativan](stayed on both)

February 2009: Hospitalized for Major Depression.  Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder.

–[zoloft, lamictal, seroquel, provigil(for CFS)]

March 2009: Bipolar Disorder, Attention Deficit Disorder – Inattentive type

–[zoloft, lamictal, seroquel, adderall] Adderall D/C’ed after 3 months – not effective

June 2009:

–[zoloft, lamictal, seroquel, strattera] strattera D/C’ed after 1 months – not effective

July 2009:

–[zoloft, lamictal, seroquel, ritalin] ritalin D/C’ed after 1 month – not effective

October 2009:

–[Wellbutrin SR, Lamictal, Seroquel] Zoloft now D/C’ed for not treating depression effectively enough even at max dose

January 2009:

–[zoloft, wellbutrin SR, lamictal, seroquel]

So, with a diagnosis of Bipolar Disorder being treated as primary since it is the most recent,  how do you decipher what symptoms or behaviors that don’t “fit the bipolar mold” are just irrelevant, or part of one of the other illnesses that I have been diagnosed with?

I have to finish this later… I’m passing out.

One thought on “Mixed Diagnoses – How Do You Know?”

  1. I can somewhat relate… I was recently hospitalized for major depression and the psychiatrist at the hospital diagnosed me with cyclothymia, a “mild” form of bipolar disorder. I definitely don’t fit the mold, because although my “high” episode may not have been full blown, but depressive episode certainly was. I think he diagnosed me with cyclothymia because of my current rapid mood changes throughout the day. He also didn’t really seem to think that a diagnosis was all that important, which I have mixed feelings about. Either way, he wants to treat my symptoms and not necessarily my “disease.” It would give me a lot of clarity though to have a more fitting diagnosis, maybe even understanding. I know it can take time though, sometimes even years.

    Hang in there and always be good to yourself.

    Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

